Publié le

PROMISING TALENT: MOSES MUKONO

Moses MUKONO

Moses Mukuno (#222 in green) at the National Junior Cross Country Championship, Nairobi, February 16, 2013.

Moses Mukono (#222 in green) at the National Junior Cross Country Championship, Nairobi, February 16, 2013.

Informations :
Last Name : MUKONO, Letoyie
First Name : Moses
Age : 17
Country : KENYA

Personnal Best :
– 5000m : 13:42.75

Honours :
– 2012 World Junior Championship 8th Place over 5000m.
– 2012 Kenya Junior Championship 3rd Place over 5000m.
– 2013 Kenya Junior XC Championship 3rd Place.
– 2012 Kenya Junior XC Championship 7th Place.

Moses Mukuno during the Kericho Weekend XC, January 12, 2013.

Moses Mukono (Center) during the Kericho Weekend XC, January 12, 2013.

Runafrica Project Interview:

1/ When and were were you born ? Where are you living (city) now ?

I was born on November, 27 1995 in Masai land near Kilgoris town in a village called Masurara (Same home of 800m Olympic Champion David Rudisha).

2/ How and when did you start running ?

I Started running as normal competition in primary school. Then after joining high school in a school called Mutuengar in Angata Barkoi in Transmara from 2009 up to 2010 when I shifted to Saint Patrick’s High School in Iten where I joined Brother Colm’s camp.

3/ Do you have brothers and sisters ? If yes are they running ? What are your parents doing ?

Yes I have two older brother and two older sister. All of them are married and they dont run. I want to tell you that i am unique in our family, nobody expect me run in our home. Concerning my parents they do farming but i had only my mum with me.

4/ Who is your coach ?

My coach is Brother Colm.

5/ Where are you training ?

I train in Iten, just in school.

6/ Who are your training partners ?

I train with Augustine Choge, Isaac Songok, David Rudisha and another guy call Silas Too.

7/ What distances are your running ?
What are your Personnal Best ?

I run 5000m and I am hoping to run 3000m and 10 000m soon. My best time so far in 5000 is 13:42.75 at the Kenya Junior Championship at Nyayo Stadium last year where I qualified for world Junior Championship in Barcelona.

8/ What is your target for Poland ?

Haha… No I will answer this after the World Championship!

National Cross Country men’s team (from left) Leonard Barsoton, Japheth Korir, Conseslus Kipruto, Jonathan Ndiku, Moses Mukono and Geofrey Kirui train at Runyenjes, March 18, 2013.

National Cross Country men’s team (from left) Leonard Barsoton, Japheth Korir, Conseslus Kipruto, Jonathan Ndiku, Moses Mukono and Geoffrey Kirui train at Runyenjes, March 18, 2013.

9/ What is your plan after that ?

I am planing to represent the country for Africa Junior Championship this year and I am also aiming for World Championship this year.

10/ Who was your favourite runner when you were a kid ?

Paul Tergat and Kenenisa Bekele

11/ If you were not an athlete, what else would you be ?

I don’t know but I am good in class. I am not only an athlete!

12/ How many miles/kilometres are you doing each week (at what pace)?

I do 30km for my long run at about 60%. For speed work it is either fartlek or interval. I also do tempo run of maximum 25minutes at 80%.

13/ Can you tell us the best workout you have done until today ? 

Ok for me when I do intervala then it depend what I am preparing: 1200m*8 under 3:12 / 400*5 between 56-60 / 1000*5 under 2:30 each.

14/ What distances are you planning to focus in the future ?

Everything from 1 mile to 10 000m.

15/ What is the hardest part in running ?

Hahaha nothing hard but it take determination and we may say some challenges as a student because you need to be able to combine class and sport. Also as a young athlete remember that running is getting better with age and for now you can’t expect young athele to compete with Rudisha, Bolt, Bernard Lagat of U.S.A and Mo Farah.

16/ Where did you go for primary school ? secondary ?

Primary is known as Mutenguar. Secondary is Saint Patrick’s high school in Iten (former school pupils include David Rudisha and many others champions). Currently I am in form four there.

17/ If we invite you to a race in France would you like to come ?

Off course yes I will. Would you invite me ?

2 réponses à “PROMISING TALENT: MOSES MUKONO

  1. Thank-you for your interview with this youth runner. Will be looking forward to seeing him run this weekend in Poland.

Laisser un commentaire

